Week 2 Actions

pension pic1  pension pic 2

Weeks 2:

This week, we are focusing on contacting our legislators via email.  Please us the link below to identify your representative.  We are asking our members on Wednesday to email their three legislators and ask them to fund the pension.

How do I find my legislators? http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/districts/municipalities.asp

Sample copy of possible email text from NJEA:

Dear Legislator,
I am very concerned about Governor Christie’s proposed budget that continues to underfund our State pension systems.   It is fiscally irresponsible to skip pension payments and by doing so, he is breaking the law(c.78) that he signed.  I have made ____ payments into the pension system. The State needs to make its payments!  or…

Dear Legislator,
My public pension is my retirement income! Without it, I will face poverty and be forced to rely on state programs.  I have made ____ payments into the pension system.
The State needs to make its payments!  or…


Dear Legislator,

If the State fails to meet its pension obligations, it will not only impact thousands of public workers like me, but will hurt our overall economy. In fact, every $1 paid out in pension benefits generates $1.77 in total economic activities.  I have made ____ payments into the pension system. The State needs to make its payments!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.